DUI in WashingtonDrunk driving is a serious crime and individuals convicted on a DUI charge can face serious penalties. There have been no recent studies conducted about the average DUI punishment for a DUI in Washington. However, there are minimum and maximum penalties for the crime. A person convicted of DUI can possibly face fines, jail time, and expensive mandatory classes. 

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is considered a gross misdemeanor in Washington, if you have three or fewer convictions. If you have more than three convictions, you will be charged with a felony. There are both minimum and maximum punishments for a DUI in the Evergreen State. 

If you have a drunk driving charge in Everett, your potential punishment will depend on the number of convictions you have and your level of inebriation.

First Offense DUI in Washington

Even a first-offense DUI conviction comes with mandatory jail time and fines. If your blood alcohol level is between .8 % and .15%, you must serve a minimum of 24 hours in jail or wear an electronic monitoring device for two weeks. 

The maximum sentence permitted is a year in jail. You may be required to pay fees between $823 and $5,000. Your license will be suspended for 90 days and you may be required to install an expensive ignition interlock device in your car. 

If your blood alcohol level is over .15 or if you refuse to take a breathalyzer test, you must serve double the time. You can also go to jail for a maximum of one year and you may be required to pay fines of $1,015 to $5,000. Regardless of your blood alcohol level, you may receive probation. Your license will also be suspended for 90 days.

Second Offense DUI

If you are convicted of a second DUI offense and your blood alcohol level is between .8 and .15, you will be required to go to jail for at least 30 days. You could potentially be incarcerated for as long as one year. You will be required to wear an ankle monitor for at least two months and may face fines of $1,015 to $5,000. You may also lose your license for as long as two years.

A second conviction for people with a BAC of over a .15 blood alcohol level will result in a minimum of 45 days in jail. You will be required to wear an ankle bracelet for 90 days and your license will be revoked for three years. You could face fines from $1,405 to $5,000.

Third Offense DUI

When you are convicted of DUI for the third time, you will face a minimum of 90 days in jail if your BAC is between .08 and .15. You will also be required to wear an ankle monitor for 4 months and will lose your license for 4 years. You will also face fines of between $1,805 and $5,000.

If your BAC is over .15, you will go to jail and wear an ankle bracelet for several months. You may be required to have an ignition interlock device on your car for as long as 10 years.

Finding a Good Attorney

If you are accused of a DUI, it is in your best interest to find an experienced Washington criminal defense lawyer to represent you. If you are convicted of a DUI, a judge cannot reduce the minimum sentence. However, a criminal attorney may be able to get charges against you dropped, especially if a police officer did not follow proper protocol. If you are convicted, they will fight for you to receive the lightest sentence possible. 

A conviction of DUI can have a negative impact on your life for years to come. A trained attorney can help to defend your freedom.

 



Source link

Author

Comments are closed.